Saturday, August 16, 2008

On the nightshift...

Working a night was just bizarre. I know it was just one and I will get more used to it (I have to, I am contracted 50/50 days/nights)! Things are so quiet on the floor and there isn't much interaction with the patients. Atleast not thursday night. I did get to do a lot of medication switching out which is good for me. Working the pumps, timiing the medications, and making sure they don't interact with each other or the patient are all things I constantly have to keep an eye on and figure out.

I was cruising along through the night fine, it was weird to hear people say at one am "lunch time". Luckily my preceptor hit a need for coffee at the same time I did and made a yummy pot that was gone pretty quickly. She was great and quizzed me on some things and was patient with me on others. All out a great first night shift experience.

I came home and passed out, no problems there but was still pretty out of it when I got up around 3:30 to join the real world on a Friday night. I feel fine and caught up this am. I think I will adapt fine once it is routine. I am not back on the floor until the 27th, crazy.

Monday should be a great day. I get to shadow and go to all the steps and people that help get the patients to the floor for their bone marrow transplants. It should be really interesting, I'll let you know!

No comments: